Week Two: Cherry Filled Cookies

I love cherries, but for some reason, cherry flavored things get a bum rap.  I was hoping to change that reputation with these delicious looking cookies.

These were a little time consuming in that they require some chilling, and you have to make the filling as well, but overall, these were pretty easy.  Read more for my notes and suggestions.

 

Ingredients for cookies:

1 cup sugar

1/2 cup shortening

1/4 tsp soda

2 1/2 cups flour

2 eggs

1 tsp vanilla

1/4 tsp salt

 

Ingredients for Filling:

24 maraschino cherries, chopped

1/2 cup maraschino cherry juice

1 cup sugar

2 tablespoons of butter

3 tablespoon cornstarch

1 cup orange juice

As seems to be the norm with these recipes, I used about 1/2 cup less sugar than the recipe called for.  After beating the eggs, sugar, vanilla, and shortening, I added the flour slowly.  After 2 cups, I decided it was enough.  I then added the salt and the soda, and wrapped it up in plastic wrap to chill for an hour in the fridge.

 

Once the dough was in the fridge, it was time to move on to the filling.  First, the sugar and cornstarch get mixed together in a cool pan.

 

I chopped up the cherries in the blender…

 

 

 

 

 

 

Then I added everything else to the pan.  Let it heat to a boil, then boil for 1 minutes, stirring constantly.  As could be expected, it turned into a jam-like consistency.

 

 

 

Yum.  Look how red thos maraschino cherries make everything!

 

 

 

 

After chilling an hour in the fridge, it was time to roll out the dough.

 

 

 

I didn’t have a cookie cutter, so I used the top of a canister of cinnamon.  Perfect size!

First, the bottoms are made and put on the baking sheets.

Then, it’s time to add the jam.  I think I added too much jam per cookie.  Whoops.

 

 

 

 

Next, the tops go on and the sides get crimped with the edge of a fork.

 

 

 

Bake at 400 degrees for 8-10 minutes.

 

 

 

 

The cookies on this came out REALLY tasty.  Unfortunately, the filling did have a little bit of that cherry cough syrup taste.  Next time, I’m using strawberry jam, or tart cherries.

EDIT:  Okay, apparently my tastebuds are crazy.  Everyone RAVED about these cookies.

One response to “Week Two: Cherry Filled Cookies

  1. Don’t listen to her cough syrup comment. These were delicious!

Leave a Reply

