Week Three: Cinnamon Slice Cookies

 Yesterday we decided to have a cook-out/grill & porch party.  For those of you who are lucky enough to know me in real life, you know that I have a kick-ass wrap around porch that just begs for parties.  I also decided that we needed some kind of dessert.  Easy and simple, these Cinnamon Slices take no time to prepare.  Make them early, shove them in the fridge, and slice and bake when it’s time to go.

 

 

 

Ingredients:

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 cup brown sugar, packed (I used 1/4 cup splenda brown sugar blend)

1 cup shortening

2 1/2 cups flour (maybe decrease the flour a bit – they were a tad dry)

2 eggs

2-3 tsp of cinnamon (and I added some pumpkin pie spice)

1/4 tsp of soda

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Start by mixing the sugar, eggs, and shortening.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Go, Mixer, go!

 

 

 

 

Now we’re ready to add the flour…

 

 

 

 

 

Yum.  I definitely licked some batter on this one.

 

Roll the finished dough into a 2 1/2 inch diameter roll.  Chill for several hours or overnight.

 

 

 

Slice and bake at 400 degrees for 8-10 minutes.

 

 

 

 

These were delicious and not overly pumpkin-y.  They were simple and easy, and a hit with everyone.  

 

*Sorry for the poor pictures, my husband borrows my DSLR for a class and I can’t always use it 😦

Leave a Reply

