Week Three: Pumpkin Cookies (HOORAY FALL!)

I love pumpkin.  Really.  Pumpkin seeds, pumpkin chiffon pie (mom’s recipe, of course), and pumpkin cookies.  I’ve actually made these before, sometime around halloween while I was in college.  I don’t know what I did, but they came out really doughy and kinda gross.  I brought them to a fiction writing workshop, and I got terrible reviews – both for the story and for the cookies.  I decided that these sounded so good in theory that they had to be worth a second shot.

 

 

Ingredients

1 1/2 cup brown sugar, packed (I used 1 cup of Splenda Brown Sugar Blend)

2 3/4 cups of flour

2 eggs (I used egg beaters)

1 3/4 cup of canned pumpkin

1/2 cup shortening

1 tbl baking powder

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp nutmeg

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp ginger

1 cup raisins

Mix sugar, shortening, pumpkin, and eggs together.  I find that the egg beaters add more liquid to the recipe, so you end up needing more flour, but I find that the taste isn’t lost at all.

 

 

 

 

Mix the dry ingredients (flour, baking powder, spices) and add to the egg mixture.  Mix well.  I ended up using about the same amount of flour as the recipe calls for, mostly because of how wet the egg beaters make the batter.

Add raisins and mix.  The recipe also says to add pecans, but I hate pecans.  Blech.

 

 

 

 

Drop into teaspoonfuls onto an ungreased cookie sheet and bake at 400 degrees for 12-15 minutes (mine took about 13)

 

These cookies have a very different texture.  They’re not cakey, not crumbly, a little chewy, but not molasses-y.  They taste like pumpkin pie and are just, well, amazing.  The texture doesn’t distract from the amazing taste, and the raisins I used were nice and plump and just burst in your mouth.

 

Like most of these recipes, the recipe makes about 6 dozen cookies.  But don’t worry: the dough freezes well and can be kept until the next time you need pumpkin cookies!

Leave a Reply

