Week Five: Thumbprint Cookies

I actually did make some applesauce raisin cookies last week, but I the camera that I put the photos on is dead, so I will update with those later.  I got a request last week for something with apricot, so I figured that these thumbprint cookies with some apricot preserves in them would fit the bill.  I also made some with cherry preserves for myself and my husband.

 

 

Ingredients

1/2 cup margarine or shortening

1 egg yolk

1/4 cup brown sugar

1 tsp vanilla

1 cup all-purpose Flour

1/2 tsp salt

Jam of any flavor

First, mix together the brown sugar, egg yolk, vanilla and margarine.

 

 

 

 

After well mixed, add in your flour and stir.

 

 

 

 

Roll dough into balls and place 1″ apart on an ungreased cookie sheet.  My cookies were pretty small.  The recipe says to dip it in egg white, but I really didn’t see the point of that other than to add nuts to it (which I omitted).  Gently press your thumb into the center of the cookie to make a well.

The recipe says to bake at 350 degrees for 10-12 minutes, cool, and then fill with jelly.  I like the consistency of baked jams, so I baked for about 6 minutes, removed and filled them with jam, then put them back in for an additional 6 minutes or so.

Yum!

 

 

 

 

 

 

And cherry, too!


 

 

 

I think these may be my favorite so far, along with the pumpkin cookies.  They were delicious, and Joe, who requested them, ate the entire bag that I gave to him.

Leave a Reply

